Nowruz, celebrated on the Spring Equinox, is a festive and ancient tradition that marks the beginning of the new year in the Persian calendar, symbolizing renewal and rebirth. Originating over 3,000 years ago, this joyful occasion is deeply embedded in Iranian culture.

Haft-Sīn, or the "seven S's," consists of seven items that start with the letter 'S' in the Persian alphabet, each symbolizing a different hope for the new year. These items are carefully chosen for their symbolic meaning and are beautifully arranged on the Nowruz table, which becomes a gathering point for families as they come together to celebrate. The tradition of the Haft-Sīn table, which is often described as the "table of wisdom," has indeed played a significant role in preserving Iranian traditions across millennia, reflecting the resilience and depth of the cultural heritage.

Each of the seven items holds a specific significance:

  1. Sabzeh (سبزه) - Sprouted wheat or barley representing rebirth and growth.
  2. Samanu (سمنو) - A sweet paste from sprouted wheat symbolizing affluence and fertility.
  3. Senjed (سنجد) - Dried oleaster fruit indicating love and affection.
  4. Sir (سیر) - Garlic representing medicine and good health.
  5. Sib (سیب) - Apple symbolizing beauty and health.
  6. Somaq (سماق) - Sumac stands for the color of sunrise and the triumph of good over evil.
  7. Serkeh (سرکه) - Vinegar representing age and patience.

Through this beautiful celebration, Iranians honor their rich history and cultural legacy, embracing the coming of spring with optimism and joy.

Back to blog